Log in

View Full Version : Yet Another Warez Site?


Midnight
04-08-2004, 10:30 AM
Just noticed a good 500 hits from this site this week: www.rexxioz.com

Looks like Warez to me (don't know the language), with lots of indie games on there. Can someone confirm?

Link to their games section: http://rexxioz.com/news.php?cat.7

Artichoke Games
04-08-2004, 11:21 AM
Yes, this is a warez site, a Polish one. :( And look at the bottom of disclaimer. They try to justify themselves and say that if you are a memeber of anti-piracy group, you cannot enter their site or you will break the law! Do they really think this will help them?

cliffski
04-08-2004, 11:25 AM
if anyone knows any polish, and isp email address, just post it here...

mkovacic
04-08-2004, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by Midnight
Just noticed a good 500 hits from this site this week: www.rexxioz.com
Looks like Warez to me (don't know the language), with lots of indie games on there. Can someone confirm?
Link to their games section: http://rexxioz.com/news.php?cat.7
Isn't Wonderland your game? They host a .rar file for it, I presume it's the full version, but you are the best person to verify that.

If it is, they're hosting the actual file (not just providing a link), and their web provider is a UK company, so fire away.

mkovacic
04-08-2004, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by cliffski
if anyone knows any polish, and isp email address, just post it here...
I think this is their hosting provider:
http://macoman.co.uk/contact1.php

Midnight
04-08-2004, 11:38 AM
Thanks all!

I've sent them an e-mail. Perhaps others could, too?

cliffski
04-08-2004, 01:58 PM
heres my email
This site:
http://www.rexxioz.com/
is hosted by you, and contains illegal copyrighted material owned by myself and other software developers.
Please remove this sites internet access as soon as possible to avoid the threat of legal action.
Thankyou for your assistance.

Cliff harris
positech Computing Ltd
www.positech.co.uk

I dont actually have games there (yet), but all for one and all that.
It only takes a minute for everyone reading this to send similar messages.

yeahgofigure
04-08-2004, 02:14 PM
You might want to tone down your response to the hosting company. Typically these guys have little idea what they are hosting and a nice friendly message to them will get more response than a nasty email. I don't know the hoster and they could very well know what's up so if they don't respond later can start getting more agressive. Attract more bees with honey....

lakibuk
04-08-2004, 02:41 PM
I sent an email,too (told them my game is there which is a lie).

Midnight
04-08-2004, 06:31 PM
Update: an email to their host resulted in Wonderland being removed. I had asked for the site to be taken down altogether. I would suggest that others e-mail the host with the same request if your game is listed.

Some of the game listed from authors on this site are Bud Redhead, Starscape, Hamsterball, Snowy, and Gold Miner Joe.

yeahgofigure
04-08-2004, 06:57 PM
Well then the hosting svc sounds like they understand the nature of the site so in that case honey is out and they should get nasty lumps of coal.

lakibuk
04-08-2004, 09:11 PM
Maybe we should email all developers of the games on the site.

Ok,i emailed the first developers on the list until (including) DX Lines. Maybe someone wants to email the rest.

mkovacic
04-08-2004, 11:24 PM
Originally posted by yeahgofigure
You might want to tone down your response to the hosting company. Typically these guys have little idea what they are hosting and a nice friendly message to them will get more response than a nasty email. I don't know the hoster and they could very well know what's up so if they don't respond later can start getting more agressive. Attract more bees with honey....
I agree. What I usually send is something along the lines of
"Hi,
I'd like to inform you that one of your customers is hosting a warez site/warez content/pirated software. The site/page in question is

[http://...].

Please see that it is removed as soon as possible.
Thanks,
sig."

:)

Dexterity
04-09-2004, 06:57 AM
The site in question has apparently removed all illegal content. This text now appears on their home page:

we have been tracked by some software companies and as jajco wrote we MUST change our profile and that means ZERO of illegal soft or links to it on this site in the future! thank u 4 your attention and for your interest in this site!

Nice job!

cliffski
04-09-2004, 07:22 AM
wahey! maybe i was more heavy handed than I should be, But these things really wind me up. I sed to work in tech support, and know from experience that people who moan loudest got dealt with first. sad but true.
This is developing into quite a warez-fighting team. hurrah!