Log in

View Full Version : Another Warez Site


Midnight
07-03-2004, 08:35 PM
Here's another one I noticed: http://www.jonisdownloads.us/
(you have to register, and it loads slow as hell)

Host is wildwestdomains.com

Their e-mail is spam@wildwestdomains.com (for spam related abuse which is the closest I could find on their site, I also cc'ed to abuse@wildwestdomains.com which I'm not sure exists)

Listgame.com would be a nice one to get, given the amount of traffic it seems to attract. What about going through the name registrar?

WildSnake
07-03-2004, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by Midnight
Listgame.com would be a nice one to get, given the amount of traffic it seems to attract.

Are you sure you need THIS kind of traffic Midnight? :)
BTW, Listgames.com is listed on Shareware Tracker of sites to submit and we could require remove them at least from there...

Chaster
07-04-2004, 06:34 AM
by "get" I think Midnight meant "shut down"...

dogbert
07-04-2004, 09:17 AM
BTW, Listgames.com is listed on Shareware Tracker of sites to submit and we could require remove them at least from there...

The site appears "clean", it's their forum that's nasty & dirty.

WildSnake
07-04-2004, 09:45 AM
clean? with such forum? OOOOk.... ;)

ggambett
07-04-2004, 10:15 AM
Originally posted by Midnight
Listgame.com would be a nice one to get, given the amount of traffic it seems to attract. What about going through the name registrar?
I tried last week, got no reply from ZoneEdit.com

I'd love to see the Listgame forum down!

Midnight
07-04-2004, 10:27 AM
Originally posted by WildSnake
Are you sure you need THIS kind of traffic Midnight? :)


Yes, sorry, "Get" as in "Get those lousy &#*S# shut down". ;)

papillon
07-04-2004, 10:43 AM
Odd, I've never been able to reach that site (tried after it was mentioned in that realarcade thread)

WildSnake
07-04-2004, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by Midnight
Yes, sorry, "Get" as in "Get those lousy &#*S# shut down". ;)

Not, really!!!

Get and place "Piracy is bad!" slogan on there. Very big slogan... :D

How about antipiracy ring guys? I got some ideas on that...

Opinions?...

CrystalSquid
07-04-2004, 11:01 AM
Whats more worrying is that listgames.com appears to run largely through advertising and affiliate sales.

If you want to hit them where it hurts, report them to the companies they are affiliating and advertising through with a complaint.

Taking money from affiliate sales while actively encouraging piracy is really sticking the boot in to the indy game community.

escotia
07-04-2004, 01:48 PM
listgame looks like they're a regnow affiliate. Anyone friendly with regnow want to see if they can get their affiliation cancelled?

SC

WildSnake
07-04-2004, 02:35 PM
unfortunatelly Jessica left RegNow - she could do something...

And yes we got the request to affiliate from that guys through RegNow. Were rejected as all anothers ;)

cliffski
07-05-2004, 01:12 AM
thats VERY interesting. I use RegNow, Ill be emailing them with my thoughts on listagme, I can easily swap to plimus if RegNow want to condone piracy.
I suggest anyone else on heer who also uses RegNow does the same. In fact, we could put together a jointly signed mail?

ggambett
07-05-2004, 05:21 AM
Sent my message to RegNow. Let's fill their inbox!

cliffski
07-05-2004, 01:30 PM
the listgame forum isnt looking too l33t right now though.

maddoggames
07-05-2004, 10:38 PM
I just had a look on thier forum, they seem a bit pi##ed that they are getting flamed. One says, 'if you don't want your games stolen, don't make them'. What a c##k. Anyway, I popped on to the FAST website, they have a page to report peaple but not web sites.(unless I missed it) Anyone spoke to them about this site and how to report other sites? Seems to me that FAST should be attacking these places for us. ( they have more clout )

cliffski
07-06-2004, 12:06 AM
I'm happy to complain to FAST if someone knows who is behinf listgame. I complained to RegNow, but was ignroed. Ill be complaiining in stronger terms today.

Anthony Flack
07-06-2004, 01:14 AM
One says, 'if you don't want your games stolen, don't make them'.


Oh, brilliant! Nice one, guy. That way, everyone wins, right?

Oh no, hang on, everyone loses, don't they? Everyone loses out badly. Oh. Maybe he didn't think this through...

cliffski
07-06-2004, 02:50 AM
actually sites like this can be an opportunity. if you added 100 posts to their forum somehow with invalid serials, people would soon stop trying to find a valid one for your game. if there was a way to automate the process of filling out their forum message.

maddoggames
07-06-2004, 03:16 AM
Looks like FAST are only intreasted in pirates that make hard copies and not web sites that assist in software theft. We need a super hero that can do a DOS attacks on these sites. ;)

Dexterity
07-06-2004, 06:50 AM
If anyone here is an ASP member, consider posting about RegNow's support of these pirates in the ASP newsgroups. I'm sure you'll get quite a lot of others to help pressure RegNow to pull their support, given that many ASP members are RegNow authors and affiliates. A title like, "Is RegNow affiliating with pirates?" should get quite a bit of attention.

Sometimes you just need to create a big enough circle of leverage to get people to take action.

cliffski
07-06-2004, 07:12 AM
well lets see if they reply today, i got a standard form email saying its 4th july and they might have an email backlog... we shall see.

Coyote
07-06-2004, 08:20 AM
'if you don't want your games stolen, don't make them'
Sounds like a rallying cry for pirates everywhere. "Let's get game studios to shut down! Let's bring an end to games!"

We can have a few more for other crimes, too:

"If you don't want to get mugged, don't leave your home!"

"If you don't want to get robbed, quit making money!"

"Don't want to be murdered? You should have thought of that before being born!"

ggambett
07-06-2004, 01:45 PM
According to RegNow, listgame.com affiliate status has been revoked.

I hope they get the message and close the forum.

maddoggames
07-06-2004, 02:00 PM
Its good that they don't require you to join, we can spam them day after day. :)

Reactor
07-06-2004, 11:32 PM
Also, try here...

http://www.elspa.com/

maddoggames
07-07-2004, 05:15 AM
I just tried to go to listgame.com to flame them again, looks like the site is down. :)

escotia
07-08-2004, 10:23 AM
Well we all know it's back up now. It has been useful for finding a couple of geocities hosted sites.

http://geocities.com/b_dawg1219/ - My briefcase
http://www.geocities.com/necz2007/gcode_3.htm - My god! :eek:

You can report them here:

http://add.yahoo.com/fast/help/us/geo/cgi_abuse?from_url=http%3A%2F%2Fhelp%2Eyahoo%2Ecom%2Fhelp%2Fus%2Fgeo%2Fabuse%2Fabuse%2D01%2Ehtml

Justiciar
07-09-2004, 06:22 AM
Here's the response I got from Yahoo:


Hello,

Thank you for contacting Yahoo! Customer Care.

Thank you for informing us of possible abuse on Yahoo! GeoCities. We
have investigated the site and taken the necessary action. Please
continue to notify us of any content you believe violates the GeoCities
Terms of Service, located at:

http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/geoterms.html

Thank you again for contacting Yahoo! Customer Care.

Regards,



Yahoo! Customer Care
http://www.yahoo.com/

10848596



Original Message Follows:
-------------------------

######################################################

Auth Yahoo! ID:
NOT LOGGED IN

What Is The Exact Geocities Url On Which The Abuse Is Occurring
http://www.geocities.com/necz2007/necz.htm

Subject:
Copyrighted Material

Type Your Feedback Here:
There are 10 warez sites being hosted on
your servers. For a listing of the other
nine, see:

http://ww.necz.cjb.net/


I went and checked the sites listed as being "up", and all of them were actually down.