View Full Version : Cease & Desist
PirateHunter
07-13-2004, 06:35 AM
Good night everyone. jonisdownloads dot us is up again, with a new DNS provider. The owner of the site has been stupid enough, however, to register it under her real name and giving her email address.
Besides reporting the site to the new DNS provider, I'm very tempted to send her a Cease & Desist email or letter. I have never done such a thing before, so please guide me.
Should I sent an email or postal mail? I think postal email will work better.
Should I send it, or should a lawyer send it? In the latter case, does any of you have a lawyer friend in the 'states?
Sample contents of the C&D text?
Reanimated
07-13-2004, 06:42 AM
The sites not up. Ive never done anything like that before, but wait till the site comes back up first :D
PirateHunter
07-13-2004, 06:54 AM
Sorry, I mistyped the URL. It's fixed now.
Dan MacDonald
07-13-2004, 08:10 AM
I was reading the forums at www.ADT-sucks.org (really they do), and some people have used this service (http://www.threateningletters.com) effectively.
Pyabo
07-13-2004, 04:36 PM
hehe... this is too funny.
I once got a C&D from Infogrames complaining about a game I was supposedly publishing. (they didn't do their homework very well) I should have saved it for later fodder... :)
radiance
07-13-2004, 09:25 PM
I once got a C&D from Infogrames complaining about a game I was supposedly publishing. (they didn't do their homework very well) I should have saved it for later fodder... :)
I'm curious, what kind of game did they think you were going to publish? Was it actually a game that someone else was publishing?
Pyabo
07-14-2004, 10:34 PM
I'm curious, what kind of game did they think you were going to publish? Was it actually a game that someone else was publishing?
Activision Value evidently published a horrible game called Midnight Racing or Midnight Race Club, or something like that... quite similar to a game by Infogrames called Midnight Club. The developer of this horrible game was a company going by the name "Gamemill." As it happens, I own the domain name gamemill.com... and so a Cease & Desist ended up in my mailbox. Nevermind the fact that I have nothing to do with any company named Gamemill, nor do I make or distribute horribly crappy racing games.