View Full Version : J Squared Productions? Now What?
BrewKnowC
03-20-2003, 09:43 AM
Hi, my game is nearing completion, so about 1 week and a half ago, i ordered some MP3's and MIDI music for my game from J Squared Productions. I have emails saying the payment went trough and my work was in progress. (paypal) I recieved a final email saying that my project was done and a link to download it. I clicked the link and the page wasn't there... hmmm I was thinking maybe they mistyped the link. So i go back to their site and the whole site is non-existant. I sent an email to the same address that i have been corresponding to and it gets returned unsendable. What do you think I should do? I'm not worried about the money as much as I am about where to get good game music in MIDI/MP3 format. Any ideas would be MUCH appreciated. Thanks -BC
Dan MacDonald
03-20-2003, 09:46 AM
I had them make me a song sometime ago and it worked as advertised. I don’t think their a rip-off joint, I think they may just be having site troubles. It's very possible their Domain Name registration expired and their registrar snapped it up. A lot of registrars have this sort of clause in their contracts.
mtaber
03-20-2003, 10:12 AM
I agree. I've had dealings with them before and they were pretty reliable. They were having site problems when I was dealing with them too. I think that in the end, they ended up sending me a CD with the work on it because they were having so many problems. I told them to send it to me when they got things straightened out, but they shipped it overnight so they would deliver it on time. My guess is you'll hear from them shortly. Give them a couple of days though.
BrewKnowC
03-20-2003, 10:26 AM
I have no way to contact them now, so hopefully they will send the CD or get their site back in order. If not, do you guys know of anyone that has a similar service?
z3lda
03-20-2003, 10:44 AM
Can't you use www.register.com and do a whois lookup on their domain and find out the address of their admin. I belive a phone number is also listed.
John
papillon
03-20-2003, 10:45 AM
well, if they *lost* the domain name, that information won't be correct.
elund
03-20-2003, 10:54 AM
Their domain expired on the 13th. The status is listed as "registrar-lock" so it's being held by enom.com (the registrar). It's possible they'll get the domain back. Enom.com gives this as the former domain owner, but I don't know if this is correct:
DH International
212 Wells Ave S
Suite D
Renton , WA 98055 USA
Phone 425-226-4778
Fax 425-226-4779
domreg@cheaphostonline.net
BrewKnowC
03-22-2003, 01:07 PM
Hi, thanks everyone... I just recieved an email from Jeffrey Nordin at J Squared Productions telling me that their domain expired before the deadline and someone claimed it. But he assures me that I will get my order when he finds a way to get it to me. I'll let you know.
BrewKnowC
03-23-2003, 05:00 PM
I just recieved my project from J Squared and all is good. Most of you probably don't care, but i just wanted to keep everyone up to date in case you were planning on using J Squared in the future.